NEWSROOM


Australia’s worry has happened! China ordered the cessation of purchases of seven commodities including coal, barley, copper ore, wine and lobster!

2020-11-09

The relationship between China and Australia continues to cool. According to Bloomberg News, citing people familiar with the matter, China has so far ordered buyers to stop purchasing at least seven categories of Australian commodities, including coal, barley, copper ore and copper concentrate, sugar, and wood. , Wine and lobster.

For Australia, this is tantamount to being hit seven times in a row.

1. The customs clearance of lobster in China is delayed. Australian shrimp farmers: we are nervous

According to the “Sydney Morning Herald” a few days ago, several tons of alive Australian lobsters are stranded on the tarmac of a Chinese airport, facing a delay in customs clearance. If they are refused entry by China or delayed for more than 48 hours (exceeding this time, Expensive crustaceans will be difficult to survive), and the message will be sent: this is “another blow” to China’s exports to Australia under the tension of Sino-Australian relations.

On the other hand, the anxiety among the Australian lobster industry spread rapidly in just two days. As the fishing season is approaching two weeks later, shrimp farmers in Tasmania, Australia are also beginning to worry. “It makes us nervous.”

Since the new crown epidemic this year, Victoria’s lobster exports have been hit hard, and China is an important market they cannot lose. Knoll said that if the lobster trade between Australia and China “collapse”, Victorian lobster catchers may not be able to continue working.

After the news of the delay in customs clearance came out, Knoll began to call on Victorian consumers to support the local shrimp farmers and lobster industry and actively buy seafood products out of their pockets.

In recent years, the Australian lobster industry has relied heavily on the Chinese market. In 2018, the output value of Australian lobster exports was 752 million Australian dollars (about 3.52 billion yuan), of which 94% were exported to the Chinese market. By 2019, this proportion rose to more than 95%. .

In other words, it is almost the Chinese market that feeds the Australian lobster industry.

The former commander of the Australian Defence Force Houston once again emphasized the importance of China in an interview with Australian media. He pointed out, “If we want to truly get out of the economic recession caused by the epidemic, we must need China.”

Australian Trade Minister Birmingham said that he has already understood the issue and said that “all importers should abide by the same standards and there should be no discriminatory screening practices” and “Chinese authorities should rule out any discriminatory behavior.”

Cocentino, CEO of Southern Lobster Co., Ltd., said that due to China’s higher inspection standards for imported products, some Australian lobster products have been delayed in customs clearance. He said that there are not many existing details, but that the tests conducted in China are related to the new health inspections.

Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs spokesman Wang Wenbin said that China Customs implements inspection and quarantine on imported seafood at the import port according to law, and releases them after they are qualified. This is not only to implement the requirements of relevant national laws and regulations, but also to ensure the food safety of Chinese imported consumers.

We always believe that a healthy and stable China-Australia relationship is in the fundamental interests of the two peoples. At the same time, mutual respect is the basis and guarantee for pragmatic cooperation between countries. It is hoped that the Australian side will do more things that are conducive to mutual trust and cooperation between China and Australia and are in line with the spirit of the China-Australia comprehensive strategic partnership, so as to bring China-Australia relations back on track as soon as possible.

2. China stops importing seven types of products including Australian coal

Since this year, China has taken a series of actions against Australian exporters, including imposing prohibitive tariffs on barley, suspending imports of products from five meat processing plants, and launching anti-dumping and countervailing investigations on Australian wine.

“China has ordered the cessation of imports of 7 categories of Australian commodities”, this news has been circulated in Western media recently. Bloomberg said that these seven categories of commodities, including coal, barley, copper ore and copper concentrates, sugar, timber, red wine and lobster, are the most extensive actions by China against Australian commodities so far. Australian media said that the effective date of the ban is November 6.

Earlier, the Australian Minister of Agriculture stated that due to the tensions between China and Australia, China has strengthened trade restrictions on Australia and suspended some imports of timber and barley. Agriculture Minister David Littleproud said: “We will cooperate with the Chinese authorities to investigate and resolve these issues.”

The following are some of the trade commodities that will be significantly affected.

01  Coal
Earlier, the Australian Daily Telegraph stated that China has officially announced that it will stop importing ore, coal, steel and many other resources from Australia, and has shifted its import indicators to Western countries.

Since the beginning of this year, the Australian government has been unfriendly to China, not only on the issue of the epidemic, but also on the economic and trade exchanges and the South China Sea issue. It is reported that Australia’s GDP mainly depends on energy exports, and the coal industry accounts for 45% of the Australian economy, and part of it is natural gas resources.

The Mongolian General Administration of Customs provided a data showing that its coal exports increased by 17% to 4.65 million tons, and 96% of the coal was sent to China.

The media pointed out that Mongolia has become China’s largest supplier of metallurgical coal. Australia’s worries become reality, and China no longer needs Australian coal. Compared with the development trend of Mongolia’s coal industry, Australia’s coal exports have been declining. In September, Australia’s coal exports were reduced to 2.72 million tons.

02  Wine
In terms of high-end wines, China is Australia’s largest buyer. According to data from the Australian Wine Association, an industry organization, China’s expenditure in the year ended September this year was close to 1.2 billion Australian dollars (830 million US dollars). US exports are 2.5 times.

Since China announced two trade surveys of Australian wines earlier this year, the industry has faced difficulties in its largest market. After the news came out, the share price of Australian wine producer Treasury Wine Estates Ltd. fell at most 3%, the biggest drop since September last year.

03  Copper
On the other side, the copper market also highlights the mismatch in trade between the two countries. Last year, about 55% of Australia’s copper mine exports went to China. But Australia only accounts for 5% of China’s demand, which means that Chinese smelters should not be too problematic in finding alternatives.

After the news came out, the shares of Australian copper producer Sandfire Resources Ltd. fell 9%, but the company said it was confident of finding other customers if needed.

04  Timber
Because the bark beetle pests were detected from the timber purchased from Australia, the General Administration of Customs of China issued an announcement on October 30 to prohibit the purchase of all logs originating in Australia.

According to reports, the various pests contained in these imported wood from Australia, once they enter China, will pose a serious threat to my country’s forestry production and ecological security.

05  Barley
According to Reuters, after China announced in May this year that it would impose a total of 80.5% of anti-dumping duties and countervailing duties on Australian barley, last week, Australian government sources revealed that China has rejected the Australian government’s application for review.

It is reported that in August this year, the Australian agricultural department filed a complaint with China, asking China to review the procedures for adjudicating “dual reverse” tariffs, but China recently rejected Australia’s request. An Australian source said: “We were told last week that the review application failed. We are very disappointed.”

It is worth mentioning that China is an important consumer market for Australian barley. According to official data from Australia, about 70% of Australia’s barley is exported to China. In 2018, Australia once sold up to 1.5 billion Australian dollars (about 7.05 billion yuan) of barley to China. Regarding the measures taken by China, Mahal, chairman of the Australian National Farmers Federation, said that this would be a “major destructive blow” to Australian agriculture.

3. Listen to what these Australian officials say

Just as some foreign media hyped China to “crack” Australian imports, former Australian ambassador to China Rui Jierui recently stated in an interview with the British “Guardian” that Australia’s economic dependence on China will not change unless Australians are willing to accept it. The decline in living standards.

He bluntly said that Australia’s desire to focus on markets other than China is purely “wishful thinking.”

Although the Australian government has always claimed that it is pursuing its own policies, it has not done anything “harmful to important Sino-Australian relations.” But Rui Jierui believes that in fact, Australia has been side by side with the United States in the past few years to prevent China from rising. This practice is against Australia’s interests.

The Guardian also gave Australia a rough calculation. Recently, various Australian industries that have been affected by Sino-Australian relations, including coal mines, lobster, timber, etc., may add up to tens of billions of dollars.

Former Australian Prime Minister John Howard said that the economic relationship between Australia and China is very important. This relationship sometimes becomes tense and must be resolved. Australia should not abandon its cooperative relationship with China in any way. This is very important to Australia.

Former Australian Defense Minister Fitzgibbon chanted, “What we need to do now is to get China-Australia relations back on track.”


Online Service
Hotline
0512-69162018

WeChat public account

NEWSROOM 新闻中心


澳大利亚担心的事发生了!中国下令停止采购煤炭、大麦、铜矿石、葡萄酒和龙虾等七种大宗商品!

2020-11-09

中国和澳大利亚的关系持续降温,据彭博社援引知情人士称,迄今为止,中国已下令买家停止采购至少七个类别的澳大利亚大宗商品,包括煤炭、大麦、铜矿石及铜精矿、食糖、木材、葡萄酒和龙虾在内的产品。

对澳大利亚来说,这无异于遭到连续七次的暴击。

 

一、龙虾在华清关延迟,澳洲虾农:我们感到紧张

据《悉尼先驱晨报》日前报道称,数吨活着的澳大利亚龙虾正滞留在中国机场的停机坪上,面临清关延迟问题,如果它们被中方拒绝入关或再拖延48个小时以上(超过该时间,昂贵的甲壳类动物将难以生存),将发出信息:这是中澳关系紧张局势下中国对澳出口产品的“又一次打击”。

 

另一方面,澳大利亚龙虾行业间的焦虑情绪在短短两天内迅速蔓延。随着捕捞旺季即将在两周后来临,澳大利亚塔斯马尼亚州的虾农也开始担心起来。“这让我们感到紧张。”

今年新冠疫情以来,维多利亚州的龙虾出口就备受打击,中国更是他们不能失去的重要市场。诺尔表示,如果澳大利亚与中国的龙虾贸易“崩溃”,维多利亚州的龙虾捕捞者可能无法继续工作。

清关延迟消息传出后,诺尔开始呼吁维多利亚州消费者支持当地虾农与龙虾产业,积极掏腰包购买海鲜产品。

近几年,澳洲龙虾行业严重依赖中国市场,2018年澳洲龙虾出口产值是7.52亿澳元(约合35.2亿人民币),其中94%是出口到中国市场,到了2019年这一比例上升到95%以上。

换句话说,差不多是中国市场养活着澳洲龙虾行业。

澳国防军前司令休斯顿日前在接受澳媒采访时又一次强调了中国的重要性,他指出,“如果我们想要真正走出因疫情所导致的经济衰退,就一定需要中国。”

澳大利亚贸易部长伯明翰对此表示,他已经了解到有关问题,并称“所有进口商都应遵守同等标准,不应有歧视性的筛查做法”,“中国当局应排除任何歧视性行为”。

澳南方龙虾有限公司CEO科森蒂诺表示,由于中国提高了进口产品检验标准,一些澳大利亚龙虾产品的运输出现了通关延误。他称现有的细节不多,但表明中国进行的这些测试与新的卫生检查有关。

中国外交部发言人汪文斌表示,中国海关依法对进口海产品在进口口岸实施检验检疫,合格后放行。这既是执行国家有关法律法规的要求,也是保障中国进口消费者食用安全的需要。

我们始终认为,一个健康、稳定的中澳关系,符合两国人民的根本利益。同时,相互尊重是各国间开展务实合作的基础和保障。希望澳方多做有利于中澳互信与合作、符合中澳全面战略伙伴关系精神的事,推动中澳关系早日重回正轨。

 

二、中国停止进口澳大利亚煤炭等七类产品

自今年以来,中国对澳大利亚的出口商依法采取一系列行动,包括对大麦加征禁止性关税、暂停进口来自5家肉类加工厂的产品,以及对澳大利亚葡萄酒展开反倾销反补贴调查等。

“中国已下令停止进口7个类别的澳大利亚大宗商品”,这一消息日前在西方媒体中流传。彭博社称,这7类商品包括煤炭、大麦、铜矿石及铜精矿、食糖、木材、红酒和龙虾等,是迄今为止中国对澳商品最广泛的打击行动。澳媒称,禁令的生效日期为11月6日。

此前,澳大利亚农业部长表示,由于中澳的紧张局势,中国已经加强了对澳大利亚的贸易限制,暂停了一些木材和大麦的进口。农业部长戴维 · 利特尔普劳德表示:“ 我们将与中国当局合作,调查并解决这些问题。”

以下是一些即将受到重要影响的贸易商品。

0

此前澳大利亚每日电讯报发文称,中国方面已经正式对外公布停止从澳大利亚进口矿石,煤炭,钢铁等诸多资源,把进口指标转向西方国家。

今年以来,澳大利亚政府对中国一直都不友善,不仅在疫情问题上,还是在经济贸易往来和南海问题上多次制造中澳矛盾。据悉,澳大利亚国内的生产总值主要依赖能源出口,而且煤炭产业占据了澳大利亚经济的45%,还有一部分是天然气资源。

蒙古海关总署提供一份数据,显示其煤炭出口量增加17%,提高至465万吨,而其中96%的煤炭被输送到中国。

媒体指出,蒙古国成为中国最大冶金煤供应国。澳大利亚担心的事情成为现实,中国不再需要澳大利亚的煤炭。对比蒙古煤炭行业的发展态势,澳大利亚煤炭出口不断萎靡,在9月份的,澳大利亚煤炭出口量减少到272万吨。

0葡萄酒

在高档葡萄酒方面,中国是澳大利亚最大的买家,据行业机构澳大利亚葡萄酒协会 的数据,截至今年9月的一年中,中国的支出接近12亿澳元 (合8.30亿美元),这大约是中国对美国出口的2.5 倍。

自中国今年早些时候宣布对澳大利亚葡萄酒进行两项贸易调查以来,该行业在其最大市场面临困境。消息流出后,澳大利亚葡萄酒生产商 Treasury Wine Estates Ltd. 的股价至多下跌了3%,为去年9月以来的最大跌幅。

0

另一边,铜市场也突显出两国之间的贸易不匹配。去年,澳大利亚约55%的铜矿出口流向了中国。但澳大利亚仅占中国需求的5%,这意味着中国的冶炼厂寻找替代品应该不是太大问题。

相关消息流出后,澳大利亚铜生产商Sandfire Resources Ltd. 股价下跌9%,不过该公司表示,如果需要,有信心找到其他客户。

0木材

因之前从澳大利亚国家的购进的木材中检验出树皮甲虫的害虫,因此,中国海关总署在10月30日当天发布公告,禁止购买原产于澳大利亚的所有原木。

据报道称,这些来自澳大利亚的进口木材中含有的各种害虫,一旦进入到中国境内,将对我国的林业生产和生态安全造成严重的威胁。

0大麦

据引路透社消息,继今年5月中国宣布对澳大利亚大麦征收合计80.5%的反倾销税和反补贴税后,上周,澳大利亚政府消息人士透露,中方又拒绝了澳大利亚政府提出的复审申请。

据悉,今年8月,澳大利亚农业部门曾向中国提出申诉,要求中国对裁定“双反”关税的程序进行复审,不过中方近期拒绝澳方一要求。澳方人士称:“我们上周被告知复审申请失败,我们非常失望。”

值得一提的是,中国是澳大利亚大麦的重要消费市场。据澳大利亚官方数据显示,澳大利亚约70%的大麦出口到中国,2018年,澳大利亚一度向中国出售了高达15亿澳元(约合人民币70.5亿元)的大麦。对于中方采取的措施,澳全国农民联合会主席玛哈尔表示,这会是对澳大利亚农业的“重大破坏性打击”。

 

三、听听这些澳洲官员怎么说

就在部分外媒炒作中国“打击”澳大利亚进口商品的时候,澳大利亚前驻华大使芮捷锐日前在接受英国《卫报》采访中表示,澳大利亚对中国的经济依赖将不会改变,除非澳大利亚人愿意接受生活水平的下降。

他直截了当地说,澳大利亚想要将目光投向中国以外其他市场的想法,纯属“一厢情愿”。

尽管澳大利亚政府一直宣称正在奉行自己的政策,没有做任何“损害中澳重要关系的事”。但芮捷锐认为,实际上澳大利亚过去几年中一直在和美国并肩,阻挡中国崛起,这种做法违背了澳大利亚的利益。

《卫报》还给澳大利亚粗粗算了笔账,近期因为受中澳关系影响的澳大利亚各类产业,包括煤矿、龙虾、木材等等,加起来规模可能达数百亿美元。

澳大利亚前总理约翰·霍华德则表示,澳大利亚和中国在经济上的关系非常重要,这种关系有时会出现紧张,必须予以解决。澳大利亚不应该以任何方式放弃与中国的合作关系,这对澳方来说非常重要。

澳大利亚前国防部长菲茨吉本高呼,“我们现在需要做的,是让中澳关系回到正轨上。”


在线客服
热线电话
0512-69162018

微信公众账号