NEWSROOM


Recently, maritime accidents have occurred frequently, so please pay attention to this when shipping!

2020-12-17

My locker didn’t fall into the sea, so you want me to lose money?

November 30

ONE, a large container ship “ONE APUS”, encountered severe weather about 1600 nautical miles northwest of Hawaii. The ship experienced severe turbulence. About 1816 containers were damaged or lost, including 64 dangerous goods containers (54 firecrackers). Cabinet, 8 battery cabinets, 2 alcohol solution cabinets).

The ship departed from Yantian, Shenzhen on November 19, and had called Singapore, Laem Chaban, Thailand, Gaimei, Hong Kong, China, and sailed to Long Beach, USA, full of cargo from China and Southeast Asia. This voyage is likely to be loaded with Chinese “Christmas cargo” heading to the Port of Long Beach in the United States. According to the current sailing plan of the ship, it will not be possible for the ship to reach the United States years ago.

ONE has established a special website for this accident so that everyone can keep up with the latest situation.

Friends in need please pay attention:

https://www.one-apus-container-incident.com

December 2

The ultra-large container ship “MUNICH MAERSK” under Maersk lost about 200 containers about 90 nautical miles north of Schiermonnikoog Island in the North Sea. Initially, Dutch fishermen discovered the container that had fallen into the water, which was confirmed by Dutch officials shortly after.

MUNICH MAERSK called Ningbo on October 26, and Shanghai on October 30. The main destination ports are the basic ports of Rotterdam, Bremerhaven, the Baltic region, Gothenburg, Sweden, and Aarhus, Denmark.

December 14

The Chinese cargo ship “Xinqisheng 69” was collided by the Antigua and Barbuda container ship “OCEANA” with its main engine malfunctioning in the north channel of the Yangtze Estuary, causing the “Xinqisheng 69” ship to enter the water and be in danger of sinking.

“Xinqisheng 69” is loaded with 650 containers. A total of 16 Chinese crew members on board are in danger. The foreign ship is currently in no danger.

Recently, maritime accidents have occurred frequently. For example, foreign traders who have goods on the ONE APUS number may have to bear general average even if their cabinets are intact. In other words: the goods are okay, and the owner will lose money!

Why?

For some foreign trade people who are not familiar with shipping terms, this is simply unreasonable. I didn’t push the cabinet into the sea. Why should I lose money?

Because there is something called “General Average” (General Average, referred to as G/A or G.A.). The so-called general average refers to the special sacrifices and special expenses paid by ships, cargo, and other property in the same sea voyage when they encounter common dangers. For common safety, deliberate and reasonable measures are taken. “Article 193).

General average is the loss caused by the common safety, so it should be shared by the beneficiaries, and should not be borne by the loss-affected party alone. General average is a special system in maritime law established based on special risks at sea. It is of great significance for avoiding ship and cargo losses caused by typhoons, tsunamis, stranding, rocking, collisions and other hazards.

Discussion on the ONE APUS falling water incident on the FOB Forum

General average adjustment is a long process, and it is necessary to ask the clearing bank for professional calculation.

The shipowner will declare the general average within a reasonable time of the first port that the ship arrives after the general average occurs, and notify the cargo owner and the ship’s insurer. If you encounter a similar accident unfortunately, if you have bought insurance, please report to the insurance company as soon as possible to listen to their professional opinions, and the insurance company will take over.

The shipowner and adjuster usually require the cargo party to provide a general average guarantee and sign an average agreement before taking delivery. Regarding the method of guarantee, for the goods that have been insured, the shipowner and the adjuster usually accept the letter of guarantee for average damage signed by the insurance company, while the goods that are not insured usually require the cargo to provide an average deposit to the adjuster (if the buyer and seller I don’t want to pay compensation or guarantee money, and the seller does not pick up the goods, then the goods will be auctioned to cover general average). In addition, the ship usually requires the cargo to provide relevant documents to prove the value of the cargo.

The cargo party should immediately confirm the condition of the cargo with the shipping company, retain the evidence in this respect, ask about the ship’s first destination, arrange the inspection in time, and also entrust the freight forwarder to assist in the transportation of the cargo to the designated port of destination at the first time, thereby reducing unnecessary loss.

The insurance company or cargo inspection agent shall promptly provide the general average guarantee to the ship party without the facts and evidence that the general average cannot be established, and attach the cargo value list at the same time, so as to avoid the untimely or improper provision of the guarantee and the ship’s lien goods.

Under normal circumstances, in order to make the goods reach the consignee as soon as possible and reduce unnecessary detention, the cargo party provides the general average guarantee faster. After the adjustment is completed, the general average assessment shall be paid after the adjustment report is reviewed and approved.

What to do?

Not much to say, buy insurance!

In marine insurance, “all risks” is the easiest to insure, and its coverage is Ping An Insurance, WPA, and all or part of the loss of the insured goods due to external reasons during transportation. External reasons only refer to theft, failure to pick up the goods, fresh water rain, short quantity, mixing, contamination, leakage, bumps, odors, moisture and heat, hook damage, packaging cracks, rust damage.

It should be noted that strike insurance and war risk are not included in all risks, so if it is shipped to war-torn areas or countries that love strikes (such as India, South America), you can purchase additional insurance.

Export cargo insurance premium = CIF price × 110% × insurance premium rate. The rate of all risks in international shipping is generally 8 to 3 per thousand. For most shippers, it may be several hundred yuan. Don’t take big risks to save this little money.

So who will pay for the insurance? It depends on which trade term you use.

There is a simple and trouble-free table for everyone to collect:

Here is an explanation of the more commonly used CIF terms:

CIF

Cost, Insurance and Freight, cost plus insurance plus freight

Analysis: The seller handles freight insurance for the buyer and pays the insurance premium. If the buyer and seller do not agree on the specific insurance, the seller only needs to obtain the minimum insurance coverage. If the buyer requires war insurance, the insurance premium shall be borne by the buyer Under the prerequisite, the seller shall provide additional insurance. When the seller applies the insurance, if it can do so, it must be insured in the contract currency.

CIF is one of the commonly used trade terms. If you do CIF, but do not buy insurance with a fluke, then you can only admit it if something happens, you have to pay general average, and you may also face customer claims. why? You should buy insurance, you are greedy for small and cheap, who do you think?

There is another situation to be aware of. Some customers are very slippery, and they are clearly talking about FOB, but they want you to make CIF and ask you to find a freight forwarder to deliver them to their port, but the customer only pays the freight, and no insurance premium. . At this point, if you feel that the FOB price is being discussed anyway, insurance has nothing to do with you, and you do not buy insurance, then if something really happens, you will still be counted. Can you see it? This is the risk that the guests are passing on! If the customer requests this, then you have to ask him for freight + insurance.

CIP

Carriage and Insurance Paid to, freight and insurance paid to

The seller delivers the goods to its designated carrier. During the period, the seller must pay the freight for transporting the goods to the destination, and provide insurance against the buyer’s goods loss or damage during transportation. That is, the buyer bears all risks and additional costs after the seller delivers.

FOB

Under FOB (Free On Board) or CFR (Cost and Freight, cost + freight) terms, it should be specified to be covered by the Buyers (To be covered by the Buyers), and the seller will inform the buyer as soon as possible after arranging delivery For shipping information, it is up to the buyer to decide whether to purchase insurance to avoid possible subsequent wrangling.

A foreign trader once shared with us his customer’s sorrow operation: the price is based on FOB, but he will pay the seller together with the ocean freight and the payment, so that all the documents show CIF. The seller agreed that there was no loss. After a few votes, it now seems to be resolutely rejected. Indeed, this kind of operation must be rejected, otherwise the risk belongs to the seller.

And if you do FOB, but the balance is not paid, even if the buyer buys insurance, he will probably be arguing with the seller and ask the seller to bear the loss together.

Please remember that only by buying insurance can you sail the 10,000-year ship!

As the New Year’s Eve is approaching, I hope that there will be no wind and waves in the future, and the New Year will be safe and sound!

 


Online Service
Hotline
0512-69162018

WeChat public account

NEWSROOM 新闻中心


近期海运事故频发,出货时千万注意这一点!

2020-12-17

我的柜子没掉海里,竟然要让我赔钱?

11月30日

ONE一艘大型集装箱船“ONE APUS”号,在夏威夷西北方向约1600海里处遭遇恶劣天气,船舶发生严重颠簸,约有1816个集装箱损坏或丢失,其中包括64个危险品集装箱(54个炮竹柜,8个电池柜,2个酒精溶液柜)。

该船11月19日从深圳盐田开出,曾挂靠新加坡、泰国林查班、越南盖梅、中国香港,满载中国和东南亚的货物驶向美国长滩。本航次该轮很可能满载着中国的“圣诞节货物”驶往美国长滩港。而按照目前该轮的航行计划,该轮在年前将不可能抵达美国。

ONE现已为本次事故建立了专门的网站,以便大家了解最新情况。

有需要的朋友请关注:

https://www.one-apus-container-incident.com

12月2日

马士基旗下超大型集装箱船“MUNICH MAERSK”轮,在北海Schiermonnikoog岛以北约90海里丢失了约200个集装箱。最初荷兰渔民发现了落水的集装箱,不久后得到了荷兰官方的确认。

MUNICH MAERSK于10月26日挂靠宁波、10月30日挂靠上海,主要目的港为北欧基本港鹿特丹、不来梅港、波罗的海区域瑞典哥德堡、丹麦奥胡斯。

12月14日

中国籍货船“新其盛69”轮在长江口北槽航道被主机故障的安提瓜和巴布达籍集装箱船“OCEANA”轮碰撞,导致“新其盛69”轮进水有沉没危险。

“新其盛69”装载有650个集装箱,船上共16名中国船员遇险,外轮目前暂无危险。

近期海运事故频发,比如有货在ONE APUS号上的外贸人,即使自己的柜子安然无恙,也有可能要承担共同海损,换句话说:货没事,货主还要赔钱!

凭啥?

对于一些不熟悉海运条款的外贸人来说,这简直就是不讲理,柜子又不是我推下海的,凭什么要我赔钱?

因为有个东西叫做“共同海损”(General Average,简称G/A或G.A.)。所谓共同海损,是指在同一海上航程中,船舶、货物和其它财产遭遇共同危险,为了共同安全,有意地、合理地采取措施所造成的特殊牺牲,支付的特殊费用(《中华人民共和国海商法》第193条)。

共同海损是为了共同安全而造成的损失,所以应由各受益方分摊,而不应由受损失方单独承担。共同海损是基于海上特殊风险而建立的海商法中特有的制度,它对于避免台风、海啸、搁浅、触礁、碰撞等危险造成船、货损失具有重要意义。

福步论坛上对ONE APUS落水事件的讨论

共同海损理算是一个漫长的过程,要请清算行来专业计算。

船东则会在船舶发生共同海损后到达的第一个港口的合理时间内宣布共同海损,并通知货方以及船舶保险人。如果不幸遇到了类似的意外,买了保险的请第一时间向保险公司报案,听取他们专业的意见,保险公司也会接手处理。

船方及理算人通常会要求货方在提货前提供共同海损担保,签署海损协议书。关于担保的方式,对于购买了保险的货物,通常船方和理算人接受保险公司签署的海损担保函,而未购买保险的货物则通常要求货方向理算人提供海损保证金(如果买方和卖方都不想支付赔偿或保证金,卖方也不去提货了,那么货物会被拍卖以补上共同海损)。除此以外,船方通常还会要求货方提供证明货物价值的相关文件。

货方则应立即向船公司确认货物状况,保留这方面的证据,询问出事船舶第一目的地,及时安排检验,也能够第一时间委托货代协助货物运输到指定目的港,从而减少不必要的损失。

保险公司或货验代理在没有发现共同海损不能成立的事实和证据的情况下,应当及时向船方提供共同海损担保并同时附具货物价值单,以免担保提供不及时或不当而被船方留置货物。

一般情况下,为了使货物可以尽快地到达收货人手中,减少不必要的留滞,货方都是较快地提供共同海损担保。在理算结束后,在审核、同意理算报告后方支付应负的共同海损分摊。

咋办?

啥也不多说了,买保险!

在海运保险中,投保“一切险”最省事,它的承保范围是平安险、水渍险及被保险货物在运输途中由于外来原因所致的全部或部分损失。外来原因仅指偷窃、提货不着、淡水雨淋、短量、混杂、玷污、渗漏、碰损、串味、受潮受热、钩损、包装破裂、锈损。

需要注意的是,罢工险、战争险不包括在一切险里,所以如果是出货到战乱地区,或者是热爱罢工的国家(如印度、南美),则可以购买附加险。

出口货物保险费=CIF价×110%×保险费率。国际海运一切险的费率一般是万分之八至千分之三,对大多数货主来说,算下来可能也就几百块,别为了省这点钱搭上大风险。

那么保险费用由谁来支付呢?这得看你用的是哪种贸易术语。

有一张简单省事的表格建议大家收藏:

这里重点解释一下比较常用的CIF条款:

CIF

Cost, Insurance and Freight,成本加保险费加运费 

解析:卖方为买方办理货运保险,支付保险费,如买卖双方未约定具体险别,则卖方只需取得最低限底的保险险别,如买方要求加保战争保险,在保险费由买方负担的前提下,卖方应予加保,卖方投保时,如能办到,必须以合同货币投保。

CIF是常用的贸易术语之一,如果你做CIF,但是抱着侥幸心理没有去买保险,那么真出事了你只能认栽,你得付共同海损,还可能面临客人的索赔。为什么?该你买保险你贪小便宜没买,你说算谁的?

还有一个情况要注意,有些客人很滑头,明明跟你谈的是FOB,但是要你做成CIF,说让你找货代给送到他们港口,但客人只付了运费,没有给你保险费。此时你要是觉得反正谈的是FOB价,保险跟你没关系,你也不买保险,那么真出了事还是算你的。看出来了没有,这是客人在转嫁风险!如果客人这样要求,那么你要跟他要运费+保险费。

CIP

Carriage and Insurance Paid to,运费和保险付至

卖方向其指定的承运人交货,期间卖方必须支付将货物运至目的地的运费,并办理买方货物在运输途中灭失或损坏风险的保险。亦即买方承担卖方交货之后的一切风险和额外费用。

FOB

FOB(Free On Board,离岸价)或CFR(Cost and Freight,成本+运费)条款下,应订明由买方投保(To be covered by the Buyers),卖方在安排发货后第一时间告知买方货运信息,由买方自行决定是否购买保险,以避免后续可能出现的扯皮。

曾经有位外贸人跟我们分享过他的客户的骚操作:谈价格基于FOB,但他会把海运费和货款一起付给卖家,让文件全部显示CIF。卖家本来觉得没什么损失就答应了,走了几票,现在看来要坚决拒绝了。确实,这种操作一定要拒绝,不然风险就归卖家了。

而且如果做FOB,但尾款未付清的,即使该买家买保险,他遇上了这种事,很可能会跟卖家扯皮,要求卖家共同承担损失。

请切记,买保险,才能驶得万年船!

接近年关,希望后面再无风无浪,平平安安好过年!

来源:焦点视界


在线客服
热线电话
0512-69162018

微信公众账号