NEWSROOM


Trump shot the EU! The first shot against the European trade war is unavoidable, will the EU surrender?

2019-06-13

French President Mark Long hopes to make a concession on the Iranian issue in exchange for the idea that the United States will no longer launch a trade war against France, and it has completely gone bankrupt in less than a week. On June 6th, Beijing time, Trump and Mark Long shook hands in the northern French city of Caen to discuss how to solve the Iranian problem. On June 11, Trump, who had just returned from Europe, said in an interview with the US media that French wines can enter the United States duty-free, while American wines are subject to tariffs by France. The United States should “do something” for French wines. Change this unfairness.


1
What does Trump want to do?

It should be said that there is no serious trade imbalance between the United States and France. In 2018, the United States even had a trade surplus with France. The trade volume between the United States and France is even smaller. The multi-billion dollar trade volume is to make the US-French tariff level consistent, but it is only a few tens of millions of dollars. To weaken the competitiveness of French wine in the United States, It has no effect at all.

Wine is the pride of France. Trump’s reason for taking wine is not for the tens of millions of dollars in tariff revenue, to combat the French self-confidence, to win a larger trade war, is Trump’s main aims.

In 2018, Trump announced a high tariff on steel and aluminum products from major trading partners, including the European Union, and then threatened to impose tariffs on EU automotive products. The goal was of course to hope that the EU would surrender to the United States on trade issues. In order to protect his own fist products, European Commission President Juncker visited the United States and Trump reached a consensus and decided to launch free trade negotiations aimed at non-automotive industrial products with zero tariffs, zero subsidies and zero barriers.

The US-European free trade talks have been going on for a year, and the progress is not satisfactory. This is mainly because Trump’s ideas have changed. Affected by the US agricultural state and agricultural groups, Trump began to seek to change the previous consensus with Junck and demanded that agriculture be included in the US-Europe trade negotiations. However, France, as a traditional agricultural power of the European Union, resolutely opposes this idea, making it difficult for the two sides to start trade negotiations. This is the scene in which Trump put pressure on Markon on trade issues.


2
The EU is forced to fight

From 2018, when Trump started the first shot of the trade war, the EU has always hoped to avoid direct conflict with the United States in the trade field through compromise. Until June 6, Mark Long also hoped to cooperate with the United States on the Iranian issue in exchange for Trump’s understanding and sympathy.

However, Mark Long has forgotten Trump. The core of all policy objectives is “US priority.” How can we win tangible economic benefits for the United States in international exchanges? Trump needs to consider the core issues. Although the Iranian issue is important, it is no longer of interest to Trump compared to the real money that can be recovered from the EU’s second largest economy. Therefore, Mark Long’s thoughts of appeasement are doomed to be futile.

Compared with the lack of free trade negotiations in the Obama era, Trump is about to start negotiations more like a blackmail. In the Obama era, the United States and Europe were in a relatively fair position, and no agreement was reached. In the next trade negotiations, the two sides will not be able to sail smoothly, and it is more likely to talk while playing.


3
The EU will soon realize the pain of not helping.

Although the United States is the world’s first hegemon, it is the so-called double-handed and hard-fought four-handed. If other major economies can reach a consensus to maintain the multilateral system and oppose Trump’s unilateralist actions, Trump’s trade war cannot be like today. This is smooth. It is precisely because of the EU’s trade appeasement that Trump’s trade war has become unmanageable, and he has become the most important tool for his internal support and for the benefit of the outside world.

When Trump launched the steel-aluminum trade war in 2018, Europe took the lead in escaping. They only retaliated against Americans on a 50% scale, which objectively helped Trump’s ambition to expand trade wars.

Now Trump has reached a new version of the US-Mega agreement with Mexico and Canada, and trade negotiations with Japan are underway. If the EU wants to fight for its own economic interests, it will find that there are fewer allies around.

Although the EU’s economic aggregate is comparable to that of the United States, because the EU’s economic integration process is not sufficient, the EU and the United States will be very fierce, but the first to fall is definitely the EU. By then, the EU will find the consequences of the lack of helpers, whether it is surrender or support, it will be very painful.


4
Trump’s “special” meaning to the EU

After World War II, Europe’s comprehensive strength quickly weakened, but whether it is Britain, France or Germany, it still carries the pride of the old continent and is unwilling to face up to the reality of European decline. The establishment of the European Union has also enabled many European elites to see the hope of European renaissance, as if the EU can still compete with the United States and Russia in the first-line players.

But the appearance of Trump broke the illusion and illusion of all this. Trump did not regard the EU as a game opponent of the same grade. In the eyes of the American elite, only China and Russia, and even Russia, who are able to compete with the United States, are not rivals of the same grade, let alone the EU that is still in internal consumption. Trump is just a matter of being more direct, and visualizing this idea of ​​the American elite.

At the same time, Trump did not regard the EU as a close ally of the United States. The trade war launched by Trump did not spare the EU because of the same values. Next, the US-European free trade negotiations, Trump’s asking price will remain as high as ever. Not only that, but Trump’s encouragement of the British Brexit can also be seen that he not only does not want to help the EU, but also always thinks about how to break up the EU.

Letting the EU see its true strength and status should be Trump’s biggest contribution. Peace and equality have never been achieved by pleading. If the EU still wants to make a difference in the international arena, it is the right time for Trump to further promote the political, economic and military integration of the EU.


In April 2018, Mark Long visited the United States for the first time, and they planted an oak tree on the White House lawn. The tree of friendship on June 8 was confirmed to have died. This seems to remind the EU leaders represented by Mark Long that it is time to change the past appeasement and dependence on the United States and face the enormous risks that Trump brings to the EU.


Online Service
Hotline
0512-69162018

WeChat public account

NEWSROOM 新闻中心


特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

2019-06-13

法国总统马克龙希望通过在伊朗问题上让步,换取美国不再对法国发动贸易战的想法,不到一周就已经彻底破产了。北京时间6月6日,特朗普和马克龙还在法国北部城市卡昂握手言欢,共同探讨如何解决伊朗问题。6月11日,刚刚从欧洲返回的特朗普在接受美国媒体采访时,就公开表示,法国葡萄酒可以免税进入美国,而美国葡萄酒却被法国征收关税,美国应该对法国葡萄酒“做点事”,改变这种不公平。

特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

1

特朗普想干什么

应该说,美国和法国之间并不存在严重的贸易失衡问题,2018年美国对法国甚至是贸易顺差的。而美国和法国之间的葡萄酒贸易规模更小,数十亿美元的贸易额,就是让美法关税水平达到一致,也不过就是几千万美元的规模,对于削弱法国葡萄酒在美国的竞争力,根本没有什么作用。

葡萄酒是法国的骄傲,特朗普之所以拿葡萄酒下手,当然不是为了几千万美元的关税收入,打击法国人的自信心,赢得一场规模更大的贸易战,才是特朗普的主要目标

2018年,特朗普宣布对包括欧盟在内的主要贸易伙伴的钢铁和铝产品征收高额关税,随后又威胁对欧盟的汽车产品加征关税,目的当然是希望欧盟在贸易问题向美国投降。为了保护自己的拳头产品,欧盟委员会主席容克访问美国与特朗普达成共识,决定启动以非汽车产品工业品零关税、零补贴、零壁垒为目标的自由贸易谈判。

美欧自贸谈判已经进行了一年,进展并不理想,这主要是因为特朗普的想法发生了变化。受美国农业州和农业团体的影响,特朗普开始谋求改变此前与容克达成的共识,要求把农业纳入美欧贸易谈判中。但是法国作为欧盟传统的农业大国,坚决反对这一主张,使得双方的贸易谈判难以真正启动,这才有了特朗普在贸易问题上向马克龙施压的这一幕。

特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

2

欧盟被迫应战

从2018年,特朗普打响贸易战的第1枪开始,欧盟就一直希望通过妥协,避免与美国在贸易领域发生直接冲突。直到6月6日,马克龙还寄希望于转而在伊朗问题上配合美国,换取特朗普的理解和同情。

但是马克龙忘记了特朗普,一切政策目标的核心就是“美国优先”,如何能够在国际交往中为美国赢得实实在在的经济利益,才是特朗普需要考虑到核心问题。伊朗问题虽然重要,但是与能够从欧盟这一全球第2大经济体手中捞取的真金白银相比,根本提不起特朗普的兴趣来。因此马克龙的这些绥靖主义的想法,注定都是徒劳无功的

与奥巴马时期没有自由贸易谈判相比,特朗普将要启动的谈判更像是一场敲诈行动。奥巴马时代,美欧处于相对公平的地位,尚且没有达成任何的协议。接下来的贸易谈判,双方不可能一帆风顺,边谈边打的可能性更大一些

特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

3

欧盟很快就会体会没有帮手的痛苦

美国虽然是世界第一霸主,但是正所谓双拳难敌四手,如果其他主要经济体能够达成共识维护多边体制,反对特朗普的单边主义行动,特朗普的贸易战不可能像今天这样顺利。正是因为欧盟的贸易绥靖主义,使得特朗普的贸易战一发不可收拾,成为他对内争取支持、对外攫取利益最重要的工具。

在2018年特朗普发动钢铝贸易战之时,欧洲率先选择了逃避,他们当时只按50%的规模,对美国人进行了报复,客观上助长了特朗普扩大贸易战的野心。

现在特朗普已经与墨西哥、加拿大达成了新版的美墨加协议,与日本的贸易谈判也在进行当中。如果接下来欧盟要为自己的经济利益而战,会发现身边已经少了很多盟友。

虽然欧盟的经济总量与美国相当,但是由于欧盟的经济一体化进程并不充分,欧盟与美国的较量,虽然会非常惨烈,但是率先倒下的肯定是欧盟。到那时,欧盟就会发现缺少帮手的恶果了,无论是投降还是苦苦支撑,都会非常痛苦。

特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

4

特朗普对欧盟的“特殊”意义

二战之后,欧洲综合实力迅速衰弱,但是无论是英国还是法国、德国,都依然带着旧大陆的骄傲,不愿意正视欧洲衰落的现实。欧盟的成立,也让不少欧洲精英看到了欧洲复兴的希望,仿佛欧盟还能与美俄平起平做的一线玩家一般。

但是特朗普的出现打破了这一切的假象和幻境。特朗普并没有把欧盟当作同一档次的博弈对手。在美国精英眼中,现在能够与美国同场竞技的只有中俄两国,甚至俄罗斯都不是同一档次的对手,更不要说,还在不断内耗中的欧盟了。特朗普只是做人处事更加直接,把美国精英的这种想法,直观化而已。

同时,特朗普也没有把欧盟看作是美国亲密的盟友。特朗普发动的贸易战,并没有因为价值观相同而饶过欧盟,接下来的,美欧自贸谈判,特朗普的要价还是会一如既往的高。不仅如此,从特朗普鼓励英国硬脱欧也可以看出,他不仅不想帮助欧盟,还时时刻刻想着如何拆散欧盟。

让欧盟看清楚自己真实的实力和地位,应该算是特朗普最大的贡献。和平与平等从来都不是靠乞求得来了,欧盟如果还想在国际舞台有所作为,正视特朗普的这种刺激,进一步推动欧盟的政治、经济、军事一体化进程正当其时。

特朗普对欧盟出手!对欧贸易战第1枪或无法避免,欧盟还会投降吗

2018年4月,马克龙首次访问美国,两人在白宫草坪上和种了一棵橡树。6月8日这棵友谊之树,被证实已经死亡。这仿佛也在提醒以马克龙为代表的欧盟领导人,是时候改变过去对美国的绥靖主义、依赖思想,正视特朗普给欧盟带来的巨大风险了。


在线客服
热线电话
0512-69162018

微信公众账号